UK Lingerie Awards celebrates the best of 2011

Senior members of the UK lingerie industry came together at the inaugural UK Lingerie Awards last night to recognise outstanding examples of excellence in the market during the past year.

More than 250 lingerie professionals attended the event, which was sponsored by Speedo Sculpture and the Melas Group, and took place inside the plush confines of One Mayfair.

Despite the challenges that the market has faced during the past 12 months, competition for this year’s awards was as fierce as ever across the 20 categories on offer.

Story continues below

A full list of the winners can be found below but, in the brand categories, the victors included La Perla, Lascivious, Made By Niki, Maryan Mehlhorn, Shock Absorber and Wolford Tights.

Agent Provocateur, Rigby & Peller, Selfridges and Figleaves claimed the retail prizes, while La Senza scooped the prize for Marketing Campaign of the Year with Cup Size Choir.

In the much-anticipated New Brand of the Year award, Obey My Demand struck gold as designer Leanne Brooke saw off strong competition to earn victory in the category. She was presented with her trophy by model and socialite Imogen Thomas.

Rounding off the ceremony, Jill Kenton received the Lifetime Achievement Award on behalf of her mother, June Kenton, who was given the accolade in honour of the 50 outstanding years that she has devoted to the industry, both as proprietor of Rigby & Peller and holder of the Royal Warrant.

Full coverage and pictures from the awards ceremony, which was presented by Millie Clode, will be published in the October issue of Lingerie Insight magazine. You can also view a selection of images from the night on the Lingerie Insight and the UK Lingerie Awards websites.

UK Lingerie Awards Winners

Lingerie Brand of the Year: La Perla

New Designer of the Year: Obey My Demand

Independent Directional Brand of the Year: Lascivious

Independent Retailer of the Year: Rigby & Peller

Bridal Brand of the Year: Myla

Best Marketing Campaign: La Senza (Cup Size Choir),

Ethical Brand of the Year: Sweetling Lingerie

Hosiery Brand of the Year: Wolford Tights

Full Bust Brand of the Year: Curvy Kate

Shapewear Brand of the Year: Made by Niki

Men’s Brand of the Year: Calvin Klein

Multiple Retailer of the Year: Agent Provocateur

Most Innovative Brand of the Year: Atsuko Kudo

Maternity Brand of the Year: Cake Lingerie

Post Surgery Brand of the Year: Jamu Australia

Sports Bra Brand of the Year: Shock Absorber

Swimwear brand of the Year: Maryan Mehlhorn

Online Retailer of the Year: Figleaves

Department Store of the Year: Selfridges

Lifetime Achievement Award: June Kenton



Related posts